VHSMARONITE VHSMARONITE

March 2021 Blog

Back To Blog

Monday, 3/29/2021 | Mood - Tired

A whole week went by, and I haven't updated this blog-- Or anything on the site, for that matter. Sorry about that!

School, life, yadda yadda yadda.

I'm still working on that short story, but I've run into an issue- it's a horror story. I don't know the general consensus on horror works by the Church, or by Catholics at large. I know the Vatican II sect loves horror works, but then again they also like explicitly satanic media like Harry Potter and Pokémon. I don't know how my target audience will react to my work. I want to challenge them with art, but I don't want to push far enough to promote or fall into sin. It's a tricky balance to be sure.

Last week's stream was a complete dud. No one showed. I can't bellyache too much, not after the last few packed-house events. I hope this week's stream will be better.

Should I open a guestbook? I don't want to take your data/info, and I don't want to give a platform to any other company that does that. If you know of any privacy-minded guestbook services, let me know.


To Top

Sunday, 3/21/2021 | Mood - ???

I'm gonna be honest, I don't really know what to put in the Mood section most days. Most time, I'm just content. Maybe I should put that? I don't know. It doesn't seem very exciting.

Finished a Spanish exam and essay today. Thankfully it was the only homework I had this weekend for the most part. The rest was too easy to consider 'work'. I know it's gonna pick up next week though.

The celebration stream was great. We had the best turnout ever, and it was generally a really fun time. I really like doing these streams for the people in my server. In all honesty, it's the only "real" social interaction with friends that I get these days. We watched Spider-Man (2002) and some hood fight videos. A good time was had by all.

I kinda want to do more chill streams as well, as an alternative to the wacky and wild chaos fests that most Saturday streams become lol. CyTube requires a client-side dedicated server to run though, which kinda sucks. If I could make a CyTube room for the discord, I would defintely do so. But alas, it is not to be.

I'm thinking about adding more links today. Look out for those.


To Top

Thursday, 3/18/2021 | Mood - Relieved

I was very anxious about class today. Prof wasn't replying to any emails over the last couple weeks, and a few of us were already falling behind. Most of the people in my study group were talking about dropping the course entirely. I was considering it, but I didn't want to. That was a nuclear, last-choice option.

Thankfully, I didn't have to do anything drastic. Prof opened class by telling us that due dates were extended to May 19th. Apparently the prof is falling behind with his classes just as much as we are. If I cared about this course, I'd probably be pissed. But I'm just here for the credit.

Anyway, the first anniversary of my discord server was today, as meaningless as that sounds. Now that I'm actually typing it out, it seems pretty pathetic to acknowledge something so trivial like that. In my defense, I didn't know about it until yesterday, when I scrolled up to the earliest message in #general on a whim. Discord sucks anyways. As soon as Matrix gets streaming support, I'm out of here.

Still working on that short story, stay tuned for that. Maybe in the meantime, I'll upload a movie review or something, idk.


To Top

Wednesday, 3/17/2021 | Mood - Wary

Happy St. Patrick's Day! Truly he is a blessed saint. It's such a shame what his feast day has devolved into in the West. That's just how it goes these days, I guess.

I got an idea for that short story I mentioned. I've been working on it since yesterday. I hope I can get it out by the end of the month. I won't say anything more than that, because I don't want to spoil anything.

I'm feeling much less "existential dread" than I was during the last blog post. I still don't "feel" like I'm going to be 20, you know? I don't think anyone really feels the age they turn on their birthday. Give it a couple of months, I'm sure to come around.

I watched a really cool insect documentary last night. My favorite bug by far has to be the tiger beetle. Did you know hat the tiger beetle can run up to 300mph, which is faster than it's eyes can process light? These dudes really go blind when they run. Learning that reminded me of the Flash. Why didn't that ever happen to him?

This blog post is going nowhere fast, I better end it here. See y'all in the next update!


To Top

Monday, 3/15/2021 | Mood - Rejuvenated

This should be the last PC update. It's fully fixed now, and it has been for the last couple of days. Screen works, fan works, everything works. I couldn't be happier- especially because classes resume today.

I didn't do much during spring break, and I regret that. My birthday is next month. I need to start making better use of my time. I don't have much left.

Maybe that's a bit dramatic, but it's truly how I feel. I reach the big 2-0 next month. I should be excited, but all I can see is that 1/4th of my life is over. Pretty scary when you think about it...

So I won't! I got a ton of rest last week, for better or for worse. But now it's over, and I'm ready to tackle the rest of the semester.

By the way, I scrapped the article that I hinted at over the last couple updates. It was gonna be about clowns, but I wasn't feeling it. Instead, I think I'll work on a short story, or even upload some old art that I've made for other projects. We'll see!


To Top

Thursday, 3/9/2021 | Mood - Relaxed

The part should be in today. Which means within the next couple days my repair should occur. It might even happen today, if I'm lucky. Expectations are low, though.

EDIT: Literally the moment I was typing this blog post out, I got a text from the repair center. They're sending a guy out here TODAY to fix the machine! Sweet!!

I downloaded tf2 again, and it's still a nightmare in casual. In one instance, there were more bots in the game than there were players. It was still fun though. However, even though my graphics card is workable, it's defintely not ideal for gaming. Neon green everywhere. This repair can't happen soon enough.

I've been listening to quite a bit of vaporwave lately, and I've discovered my "niche" interests within the genre. I tend to gravitate towards the mallsoft and faux-utopia genres. I really wish there wasn't this pretentious communist air around those genres. I just like nostalgic, easy-listening electronic music to browse Neocities with. Maybe I'll write an article about that phenomenon another time.

My Vaporwave playlist
This is what I've been listening to recently.

I've also been thinking about ditching Mastodon/the Fediverse, as I really don't like social media in general. Maybe I'll join Vidlii? That site looks like fertile ground. It's all in the air right now. I'll keep y'all posted on what I decide.


To Top

Wednesday, 3/9/2021

Should've guessed that the part would be delayed. I got a text message from the manufacturer that told me the part would be delayed until tomorrow, which means the actual fix won't happen until Saturday at the earliest. Still, it's a free motherboard. Can't bellyache too much.

I think I know what I'm going to write about today. It's a subject that I feel strongly about, even if it's not that important in relativity. What's it about? I won't spoil it, but I'll give you a hint- honk honk.


To Top

Tuesday, 3/9/2021

New day. The PC repair man is going to come today. He's gonna replace the motherboard of my PC. I hope he doesn't bail, though. I really need this PC fixed by the end of Spring Break because I really don't want to resume online classes with distorted colors.

I don't know what I'm gonna write today. I'll update this blog post when I figure it out.

EDIT: I don't think I'll write today. I'll do some NeoCities browsing, get this PC fixed, then think of something to write tomorrow.


To Top

Monday, 3/8/2021

Hey, sorry I didn't update yesterday, I had to grind out a 5-page essay for English. By the time I finished, I didn't even want to look at an another computer screen for the rest of the day. I think my first article will be about why Mothra sucks. She's genuinely the worse kaiju of the bunch, and yes, that includes Minilla.

Also, I watched Godzilla: King of the Monsters (2019) the other day. I have very mixed feelings about that film, for obvious reasons.

...Yeah. I'll cover all this in the article. Might post today, idk. Depends on how much time I've got. Anyway, that's my little update ! Stay tuned for the article when it goes live.

EDIT: It's done! Also, I optimized the site for most mobile devices, added a few new buttons, and updated the Neocitizens and YouTube sections in Links! It was a busy day, lol.


To Top

Saturday, 3/6/2021

Testing if this works. Had to do a pretty big sprint through all my Spanish homework just now. It's all due on Sunday, you know how it is. English essay is due tomorrow, but I don't even want to touch it right now. PC screen was replaced yesterday. CPU fan too. Turns out, that only solved half the problem. Graphics card is broken, colors are still distorted because of it. It's mostly workable, but I can't really draw or do anything art related with the colors as they are. Also, I have to use Discord lite mode. Ew. Repair people are gonna install a new motherboard by Tuesday.

>tfw get a free CPU, motherboard, and screen upgrade in one maintenance call

I think I'm gonna renew this warranty. In other news, the masks come off next week, on Wednesday. Things are finally opening up now. About time, this was due months ago. Better late than never, I suppose. I gotta admit, I was really feeling like the latter was the case until now. Globohomo has to make money, I guess. I'm glad the libraries are finally opening again, because eBooks suck.


To Top